last friday night, yeah we danced on tabletops….

Haha, totally kidding.  I spent Friday night in my kitchen.  Baking.

It was a LOOONNNNNG week, and after school, I ran to the gym, and then came home to bake.  Baking is like retail therapy; I always feel so much better after I’ve created something delicious.
Okay, I really shouldn’t actually be calling it baking because everything that I made last night was completely raw.  Two fabulous concoctions were created in my kitchen on Friday, and both were 100% paleo, vegan, raw, gluten free, dairy free, egg free, soy free, peanut free, and refined sugar free.  Woahhh.

I actually only intended to make one delicious creation last night, but it turned into two.  More on that later.

If you’ve read this blog before, you know that I’m completely obsessed with Hail Merry’s Miracle Tarts.  Obsessed is an understatement.  I’m addicted.  Last night, I figured I would try to make my own.  (Okay, I’m gonna be honest…I tried this a few weeks ago and it was a TOTAL FAIL.)  I don’t even know what went wrong, but I decided to try again.

Success!  Still not the same as Hail Merry’s, (I don’t think anything can match up) but they’re pretty good for starters!

I used mini muffin pans so that I could make bite-sized tarts…but my portion control plan was utterly unsuccessful. I ate like 7 of them.  And licked the spoon.  Oops.  Somehow I’ m not guilty at all.

I can’t take credit for this amazing recipe; I found it here.  http://www.buddinglotusbody.com/nourish/mini-gluten-free-chocolate-tartes/

I used the chocolate mint recipe and omitted the mint extract.  (Although I’m sure it would be fabulous with it.)

The only ingredients in these tarts are: almonds, cocoa powder, agave, coconut oil, coconut milk, and a pinch of salt!
How perfect is that?!

The tarts turned out fabulously delicious:

Image

I’m definitely making these again!

So…here’s where the second dessert comes in.  I had too much of the filling, and no matter how hard I tried, I could not fit it into the tarts.  Although eating it with a spoon was a totally valid option, I opted for a different plan.  I made salted caramel brownie bites!

Image

The top layer is equal parts dates and raw macadamia nuts (with a pinch of salt) and the middle is the tart filling! Simply throw the macadamias and dates into the food processor, spread out thin on plastic wrap, freeze until firm, cut into squares, spread some chocolate tart mixture on, and viola! You will not be disappointed.

Try these recipes out…everyone deserves a treat.

I hope your Friday night was as fun as mine…..

Leave a comment