Good Airplane Food? That’s a first!

Okay, let’s get over the paradox and focus on what was so great about the meals I was served on the airplane. 
First of all, I didn’t even know that a gluten free meal was an option on the plane. Last time I flew to Israel, my method was simply eating around everything that had gluten, asking lots and lots of questions, and in return, of course, receiving some pretty sassy comments from the flight attendant.  My personal favorite was, “We can’t guarantee that this is gluten free, but you should be fine!”
But this time around, I guess I filled out some form somewhere and checked a box that said I was GF. A flight attendant woke me up from my nap saying, “Moriah? Seat 52G? You ordered a gluten free meal?” The half-asleep me took the meal and muttered out a “thank you.” I woke up and took a look at what was in front of me:

 Image

My full name, seat number, and the words “gluten free meal” were a label on the tray. (Bonus: this meal was kosher meat meal, so I didn’t have to worry about dairy! Yay!)

I opened up the hot entree and was pleasantly surprised to find chicken, roasted veggies, and roasted potato. It was delicious!  Also in the meal was a rice cake with hummus, a small salad, and some fruit salad.
For the first time ever, my airplane meal was actually edible-and delicious! I was so impressed with the way that El Al handled gluten free food.

After the meal, they came around with coffee. I automatically said, “no thanks” because coffee without milk is simply yucky (in my humble opinion) and coffee creamer, as fake and artificial as it is, usually contains dairy.
But then I had a light bulb moment!  The coffee creamer had to be dairy free (because of the meat we had been served)! I enjoyed my coffee; (a decision that I regretted, considering that I had originally intended to sleep on this 14 hour flight….)  I just couldn’t resist the parve creamer temptation.
I am so grateful for the way that El Al airline handled my food!

For breakfast on the flight, I was served an egg atop a bed of spinach, squash, mushrooms, and carrots, fruit salad, orange juice, and a rice cake with earth balance (vegan butter) and jelly. (I was also served strawberry yogurt, which I gave to my friend.)
Happy tummy from airplane food?!  This is definitely a first!
I am so impressed with the way that the airline handled everything regarding GF food: the options, the labeling, and the food.  Not having to worry about getting glutened on a plane was a huge relief! 

Leave a comment