Food in Israel: The experiences, the things I learned, and the pics!

The experiences:

 

-There was a gluten free menu at one of the restaurants I visited -yay!

 

-One of the restaurants told me that they had a gluten free option…turns out it was a plate of rice and potatoes.  Yum.  (Ew.)

 

-A chef at a restaurant tried to convince me that couscous was GF.  I think he was a little offended when I refused to eat it….

 

The things I learned:

 

-I learned that in Israel, ordering a small decaf coffee means, “Please give me coffee with milk.” Let’s just say that when I re-ordered I had to be very clear that all I wanted was coffee…without milk.  I think they thought I was an alien. 

 

-The gluten free products in Israel are absolutely incredible!  The bread is the fluffiest GF bread I’ve ever had in my life.  Greenlight is the main brand there; their bread products and baked goods are fantastic!

 

-Dairy alternatives are just not a thing in Israel.  There was soymilk in ONE of the 5 hotels that I stayed out throughout the trip, and it was nowhere else to be found-not in coffee shops, not in restaurants, etc.  Someone has got to get on that….

 

The pics:

 

Breakfast in Israel is incredible.  I love eating vegetables for breakfast, which is just not normal here!  In Israel, I could eat salad in the morning to my heart’s content!  Every hotel had a huge buffet with so many options! A typical breakfast for me was a plate of eggs, fish (sometimes), a few types of salads, and some fruit. 

 Image

Lunch and dinner for me, considering that I don’t eat dairy or red meat, were pretty much always chicken and veggies.  This lunch was from a food court!  I had grilled chicken, salad, pickled carrots, and pickles.  The chef cleaned the grill for me when I told him I needed a GF meal.  Where in America can you find a healthy GF meal at a food court?!

Image

The food in Israel was absolutely incredible!  It was a huge part of my trip. Although I did miss out on some things because of gluten and dairy, I have a list of things that I am going to try to make GF and DF at home! Stay tuned for that post! 

Leave a comment